Is CBD Halal or Haram?2020-10-21T07:00:01BST
Halal is Arabic for permissible and haram means prohibited or sin. Halal foods are those that are allowed according to the traditional Islamic laws defined in the Qur’an. A practising Muslim must not consume anything that isn’t considered to be halal.
Since CBD has become such a popular food supplement, some people are unclear as to whether it’s halal or haram. According to the Qur’an, substances that “curtain the mind” are haram. This is understood to be substances that intoxicate and includes cannabis. Because CBD is extracted from hemp varieties of cannabis, is it forbidden too?
Is CBD halal
If a CBD product is non-intoxicating, isn’t harmful and contains only traces of THC, then it’s likely to be considered as halal and ok to consume. However, this can depend on the type of CBD product you use and if it contains any additional ingredients that may be haram. Common ingredients such as gelatine, food colouring and flavourings are sometimes haram.
Some CBD products contain haram ingredients
Gelatine - Some CBD capsules use gelatine and are haram. However, if it is bovine gelatine and the cow was slaughtered to halal standards, it would be permissible.
Flavourings - Flavourings and colouring can also be haram if they don’t come from a halal source. For example, some can contain alcohol by-products or non-halal animal products.
Vape Juices - On the face of it, CBD e-liquids meet the standards of halal, but there is fierce debate around whether the act of vaping should be forbidden. In 2015 the Malaysian National Fatwa Council declared vaping of electronic cigarettes as haram, but this may not apply to vaping CBD.
Some argue that if in the future science can prove that it is entirely safe and vape juices contain all-natural ingredients, then it should be permissible. But others see vaping, even if safe, as an imitation of a sinful act and as such, haram.
Alcohol - Anything advertised as a “tincture” should be avoided; they are made by dissolving hemp extract in alcohol. While the amount of alcohol is negligible, tinctures are easily avoided as most CBD oils use an extraction method that uses supercritical CO2 which contains no alcohol or its derivatives.
Alcohol in small amounts can be ok if the purpose of the product is to heal, but only if there are no other options.
Why is CBD halal if cannabis is haram?
Even CBD products that still contain tiny traces of THC are ok if it is absorbed by your body and can’t be detected. The UK legal limit for THC in CBD products is 1mg per container so, if an item meets this standard its likely to be halal.
Guide to finding a halal product
To ensure that any CBD you consume is halal, there are some simple steps that you can take:
1. Find a trustworthy retailer
The UK CBD industry is still largely unregulated, so, there are some unscrupulous retailers selling poor quality products. Look for a retailer that is transparent about their processes and what is in the bottle.
Find a company you can trust by looking at customer reviews and by reading the information provided on their websites.
2. Check third-party lab tests
The best retailers and CBD brands will display third-party lab results on their product pages. These are conducted by independent laboratories and verify the content of a sample from each batch of product.
Look for products with certificates that show that THC was not detected or that it is present in trace amounts. Even if a brand claims “zero THC” or “THC free” it’s still important to check that the certificates back up their claims. We have seen many sites that say zero THC but also contradictorily describe their product as full-spectrum (to be full-spectrum it must contain THC).
3. Look for certified vegan products
Products that have a vegan certification will contain no animal products which will prevent you from consuming items from animals that weren’t properly slaughtered. They will also be free from insect products such as cochineal red food colouring which is also haram.
Look for an official halal certification – Currently, halal-certified CBD is rare to find so you will need to rely on the other steps. However, as more people ask questions about whether it’s halal, the more likely that brands will include it in their processes and labelling. Most certification conducted in the UK is coordinated by the Halal Food Authority.
4. Check the ingredients
Once you’ve found a low THC, vegan product from a trustworthy retailer, it’s important to take a detailed look at the ingredients. Most CBD oils contain very few ingredients, but others may have unnecessary extras. Look out for additives, fillers and flavours that may not be halal.
Join us to get updates and special deals monthly:
Whether you choose to consume CBD is entirely up to you but the growing consensus is that it’s likely to be halal. To be entirely sure, avoid tinctures, vape oils and products with colouring and flavouring.
It’s also important to use the third-party lab certificates to verify that it’s free from or low in THC. If you have any doubts talk directly to the retailer before making your purchase.